Annoy me, please


In the past week I’ve gotten into more arguments than the accumulated 3 years that I’ve lived in this country. In celebration of the worst week of my life, here is a list of the most ANNOYING habits that makes us who we are : Jordanians.

  1. The inability to line up in a straight line to wait for anything, and I mean ANYTHING!
  2. The inability to press the little button on the taxi meter that says “start”, in hope of gaining an extra 25ย piaster.
  3. The constant use of the car horn, that immensely exceeds the necessary use of turn signals.
  4. The awesome ability for guys to create a fight that starts off with : “Why did you look at me?”.
  5. The fact that if you don’t know how to eat mansaf properly, you’re not Jordanian.
  6. Honor killings.
  7. The non-existence of sexual education in schools that leads to :
  8. Throwing babies into trash cans.
  9. Excessively priced gyms – Fitness First – that serve no extra purpose whatsoever than a normal gym.
  10. The 6000+ idiots that enjoyed watching as a girl tried to kill herself, half of which were only concerned how the video quality would look on YouTube.
  11. The oh-so-dramatic girl who had to call a news station to tell them she was going to jump off a building. (You want to kill yourself dear just overdose on some opioid).
  12. The 16% tax.
  13. The fact that stores never put the price after tax but rather lure you with the pre-taxed price and have a tiny note at the bottom of the poster saying : “Tax not included”.
  14. The fact that Orange mobile has a 4% “special” tax to the added 16% tax on my iPhone bill.
  15. This stupid fucking confusing weather and seasonal pattern – is it winter ? spring ? summer ? WHAT!
  16. The fact that this list can go on and on and on and on and on and on…
7 Comments

Filed under The start '09

7 responses to “Annoy me, please

  1. Josh The Mexican

    stop ur bitching and be a jordanian.. its life.. =P

  2. Sounds like you need a big chocolate Easter egg.

    Shmall, you are part of the answer to change all these annoying (and evil) things. God brought you back here to be a part of redeeming the good in this lovely land.

    Jesus loves you, He’s enjoying your sense of humor. He put some of that passion in your heart as it reflects His. Give Him this list, He doesn’t mind you cussing about it, and I can guarantee He will surprise you with a very personal, surprising change to give you hope to carry on.

    Khalto sends cyber-hugs. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I would add the fact that people tell you to suck it up rather than do something to fix the dumb idiots in the country.

    Lol “leish btittalla3 zai haik?”

    Oh and “eish ya 5awal” when you have long hair.

    Ahh don’t you just love jordan (my answer: no)
    But it’s the people who are aware of its crap that make my day ๐Ÿ™‚

    Looool btw it’s hailing outside.

    Good luck dude ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Kinzi : Shmal first sends cyber-hugs back ๐Ÿ™‚ and yes I would love those big Easter egg chocolates mom used to get me back home ๐Ÿ˜ฆ – I miss mom.
    Khalto, Jesus has once again given me hope. Things were going nasty in the morning, I woke up late, missed the bus, got stuck in the rain with a t-shirt (yes I know that’s my fault for not checking the weather forcast), but the idea is, things were ugly! When it first stopped raining I called Yameen and she cheered me up and things have been going great from there. Even the taxi driver on the way home said : “5aleeha 3aleena 7abibi” :).

    Saed : Sometimes we have to be the change we want to see in the world, and as long as we’re treating people the way we want to be treated ourselves – with respect and equality – then things will always turn in our favor. I know it’s hailing, I’m taking Yameen out tonight so it better stop soon!
    Good luck to you 2 man ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Anonymous

    Dude in Fitness First, they apply ozone instead of chlorine into their swimming pools for better sanitary conditions!! Ain’t that enough of a good reason???

Leave a Reply

