Emad Alaeddin


Legs_Crossed_2_1242222858_1242223002

 

I don’t know how many of you out there know Emad Alaeddin or his band Avowed, if you don’t then you’re missing out on a lot of good stuff. I first found out about Avowed through Pulp magazine back at the start of ’08, and I really liked the band. I checked out their myspace page and listened to a couple of tracks and I was amazed to find out that he was actually Jordanian. I haven’t been to any one of his shows yet but on the 31st of this month, Emad is bringing his band Avowed down to Jordan to play at Souq Jara ! Miss it and you’ve missed out on one of the best performances at Jara this year !

I have to be honest and say that his solo album is more to my liking, but his band’s album is also pretty great. Emad’s vocals are one of a kind. No seriously, really one of a kind! If you remember how you felt like when you heard Wonho Chung talk in Arabic, that’s nothing compared to hearing Emad, our Jordanian pride and joy, sing in English :D. Simply, he amazes me! 

Click here to RSVP to his upcoming show.

Click here to follow him on Facebook.

Click here to listen to his songs including the new hit “Arabic Girl” – [It’s one hell of a song btw!]

I’ll leave it up to the big shots to say more about Emad :

“Of Emad :” in Amman, the packs of pre-teen kids who are now staring at the curly-haired, goatee-bearded 30-year-old as we try to find somewhere for a cliché-free-but-still-locally-relevant portrait, have no idea he is even from this planet, never mind from these very streets.””

-Eddie Taylor, NOX Magazine

“The vocals of Emad Alaeddin are well done, and it must be said that he can sing, and he commands the lead vocal mic. Alaeddin is able to bring out the musicianship in his band members.”

-Franco Wissa, Rock Haven
7 Comments

Filed under Jordan, Links, Music

7 responses to “Emad Alaeddin

  1. Hazm

    AZIZ MARAKA is the best performance this year bi jara 😀

  2. Yeah well, that’s your personal opinion. I love Aziz’s songs, they’re amazing, but he can barely sing man.

  3. Ali

    Nice post dude, I’m working with the crew of the theater were Avowed is playing and we are very excited for the concert, We are in search for a band to open for avowed too, So it’s going to be one hell of a concert.

  4. Great ! Good luck with that 🙂

  5. I listened to a couple of their songs, they’re very good.
    I like ‘Arabic Girl.’

  6. Elia

    AZIIZ MARAQA ?!!!
    I DONT KNOW WHY HE GOES ON STAGE TO SING ?!
    HONESTLY I HEARD A SONG 4 HIM LAST WEEK ON THE RADIO !! (I SWEAR TO GOD HE SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF HIMSELF, WITH ALL MY RESPECT TO HIM AND HIS FANS ).
    ANYWAY ITS MY PERSONAL OPINION AND SORRY IF ANYONE WAS PISSED OFF FROM IT !
    EMAD ALAEDDIN MAN KEEP IT UP.

    ELIA.

  7. Iman lines

    Gd luck Emad and Avowed… Im so happy for you guyes. x

Leave a Reply

