New found man


As a new found man, I reflect upon the last 3 years of college life and wonder who I was, who I’ve become and who I aspire to be. Once upon a time, I was the nerdy little Choueifat student, who was thrown into the wilderness (Jordan University of Science and Technology), literally :P. I was shoved into a world were I knew no one, and it was tough. Over the past 3 years I’ve gained a lot, lost a lot, but what really matters is still here, myself. My heart, my passion, my goal, my love and my mind are the things that have not changed.

I don’t mean that everything else has changed, but my character has been altered to a certain extent. Let’s call it adaptation. Living in Jordan is far more difficult than living in Dubai. College life is tougher than high school. Living alone is by far the hardest shift. All three changes to my life that have sculptured a rather better man than I used to be. My basic characteristics of being an ass are still there, but I’ve learnt more in the past 3 years than my whole 17 years in Dubai. Come to think of it, I’ve learnt more in the past month than I’ve ever learnt before. I am no longer the hot-headed ass I used to be and I’ve learnt to become more responsible. The reason is largely attributed to a personal experience that I’d rather not share here, but most of you who read my blog have an idea what I am referring to. Other than that, I have been coordinating a diabetes campaign run by my university’s hospital, so I’m busy almost 23 hours a day. I’ve been working my ass off trying to show my superiors that I am a dependable leader, and it’s been going great. I’ve gotten compliments off the wazo, and I feel more mature than ever before! I’m also doing a lot of volunteer work, especially with children. Operation Smile being one of them and the Dubai Autism Center hopefully after my summer course.Β Working and helping the less fortunate has really had an effect on my character, and I feel like a new man already. I’m also still playing the guitar in my spare time.

The idea of this post is just self-motivation. I’ve been so down lately, some days I just sit on the floor and stare at my wall for hours. Hopefully every other post after this one will be optimistic and more motivating. I’ll post the brochure I’ve been working on for the diabetes campaign, cause that’s one of my short-term goals and it’ll be a huge boost to post up a finished copy. I’ll also keep you guys updated on Operation Smile and maybe everyone who reads this can come over to Jara this weekend and help out by buying something at our booth :).

Till further accomplishments, ta da.

19 Comments

Filed under Dubai, Jordan, Life, Personal, The start '09

19 responses to “New found man

  1. Sometimes helping those who are in real need helps when one is down.

    I LOVE Op Smile!

  2. I love Operation Smile as well as helping kids! When are you taking the kids to Jara and donating a huge amount on my shift πŸ˜€ ?

  3. πŸ™‚ You’ll never know where it would all lead, keep up the good work.

    Good luck man πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks πŸ™‚
    Btw asshole I’m learning Santana licks πŸ˜€ ! Awesome stuff!
    Stairway to Heaven solo dab7eetni 😦 yel3an o5to page !! Mish heek ya3ni :@ !

  5. Keep your chin up lad!
    It seems you have been doing alot of very wonderful things (not wasting your time like this ass *pointing to self*) … I don’t know much about you .. but i am proud.

    Those who know me personally know that I usually don’t think highly of medical students. Not prejiduce, but mostly because most of the medical students i’ve encountered have their noses stuck up in the sky, and don’t know much outside of what is in their textbooks. You seem to be down to earth and well-read. I admire that.

    3eesh … good words are hard to come out of this mouth .. I am going through my own depression, and i’ve just/in-the-procses-of dumped a med student asshole of a girl πŸ™‚

  6. *an egomaniac, narcissist, asshole of a girl

    had to make that correction

  7. Shmal

    I don’t know much about you either, but it’s always nice to get a compliment from a fellow blogger :D. No it’s not prejudice, there’s some truth to that. Most of my medical colleagues know nothing other than what’s in their text books and are always stuck up. In Jordan especially dude, people here see doctors as Gods! “Ibnak doctor ? Mashalla mashalla! Mashalla! Ta3al ya doctor, shofle hal dawa iza benfa3! Gees da3’te 5alto”. This is when he’s still a freshman studying biology.
    It’s never too late to start helping others *pointing towards za3tar*, so yalla go find someone less fortunate than yourself and lend a hand! Good luck with your depression. Things that have helped me : Helping others, reading books and playing the guitar.
    Yeslam your mouth ya Za3tar :D.

  8. what a nice read!

    ive seen the smile booth, really nice smiling people, and I told them once id pass by on my way up but forgot 😦 will do this week inshallah..

    well, for a little bit (or more) of falsafeh! i’d say: its ok to be down, very natural and healthy, but not for too long.. the biggest challenge is to learn how to SMILE again..

    you’re doin a great job.. keep it up πŸ˜‰

  9. Hello Shmal!

    Long time no see right? anyway, I am back and it is good to see this new? side of you, or at least to me, glad you are doing some volunteer work, I always wanted to do some but never really had time to, it always makes you feel better, plus the chicks digg it πŸ˜›

  10. LOOOOOOL jadd, Jimmy Page is awesome man!

    I’ve been improvising la7aali haik lately not doing much, practicing some metal licks πŸ˜›

    New found man sounds like a nice song title πŸ˜›

  11. Zeina

    Welcome back man!! you’ve been missed πŸ™‚

    I’ve been checking your blog every now and then looking for something new.. Actually I salute your courage to open up and write about these stuff.. it has a great influence, not only self-motivational. Your words inspire me to be a better person.

    For me, what defines a human is his impact on society and his ability to enhance the community. Well, guess what, ur doing an impressive job in both, in such a young age.

    keep going up, eno even when ur down emotionally it turned out that ur going up mentally :). Your an interesting person, i can see big achievements in your future. keep us updated πŸ˜‰

  12. Yeah the chicks dig me being a volunteer !

    Now say that back in a sarcastic tone.

  13. Jano I expect you back at our booth this friday!

  14. Start writing the lyrics πŸ˜€

  15. Thank you Zeina πŸ™‚ I’ve missed your comments on my blog πŸ˜€ I’ll try to be a more active blogger but I’m just been so busy lately with all the work.
    Damn, I keep getting compliments. Are you guys just trying to cheer me up ?
    I shall keep you updated if anything new arises :D!

  16. Zeina

    Okay guys, we got busted :/ the target is cautious now!
    Abort the “cheering shmal up” operation!! I repeat, abort!!

    lol man, some imagination u’ve got! πŸ˜‰

  17. Hahahaha! Zeina your comment just made my day πŸ˜€ !

  18. KJ

    Great, more bloggers with multiple personality disorders πŸ˜›

    I know where you’re coming from dude! Been there too – college life changes you drastically!

  19. Pingback: Ramblings of an insomniac : NΓΊmero Uno « Yameen-Shmal : ΩŠΩ…ΩŠΩ† – Ψ΄Ω…Ψ§Ω„

Leave a Reply

