Thoughts on the sofa-bed : Part II


It’s 5 a.m. and for the second day in a row, I cannot sleep. The same thoughts that crossed my mind yesterday, cross it as we speak and I share with you, my readers, part II of the sofa-bed thoughts, namely: “Happiness Within”.

For the past 3 months I’ve struggled with many things, and at the same time discovered many things. It has been a time of change, maturity and independence as well as a time of sorrow, sadness and pain. What does not kill you makes you stronger, but they forget to mention the part where it stings like a bitch. Yet here I am, happy although troubled; smiling although hurting. I am this way because I chose to be, I want to be. I am happy because I’ve discovered that you are happy when you are happy with who you are and what you do, not hung up on the whole world. You are happy when you chose to be. You smile when you chose to, it’s your face, is it not?

Happiness sprouts from within you and only you can control it. No one can make you happy, because no one owns your feelings. You are the proud owner of happiness, mercy, compassion, pleasure and love. You are the proud owner of greed, jealousy, sloth, rage and hate. You are the proud owner of feelings, good and bad. We all have both feelings inside of us and it is up to you to bring out what you want.

happiness-smile

I speak of happiness because I know what it’s like to be sad. I know what it’s like to chose feelings based on what happens around you, when you forget about yourself. Take a good look in the mirror and ask yourself a few questions. Am I breathing and alive? Do I have the minimum human needs of shelter, food, water and clothing? Has God blessed me with a brain to think right? Do I have friends and family, whether they’re in the 100’s or just 1? Seek happiness not in others, but in yourself. Look deep inside and ask yourself if you can be happy with who you are, not with what others want you to be.

My answer to all of the above questions is yes, and they should be for most of you that can fortunately use a computer and read this. It’s not the same for lots of people out there, but you are reading this right now with electricity in your house, food on your table and clothes on your back. You are reading this and thinking whether you are happy or not. You are reading this and at the end you will realize, that you all have the power to smile and be happy with yourselves.

Seek happiness in yourself, and only then can you live happily. For the married couple, for the people in relationships, for the people who are single. For those who await hope of new love, for those who await hope of rekindling an old flame, for those who await recovery of a broken heart, I say smile.

I was this close to crying, right before I went to get my laptop and write this post, but then I held my hand across my chest and asked myself the questions aforementioned. I await the future but I live the present, and I find happiness in myself. No amount of jealousy, anger or guilt will help me through my route. I sat and asked myself is Shadi was happy and he was. Are you?

[I might have repeated a lot of ideas throughout this post and I know it’s far from organized but give me a break it’s 6 o’clock in the morning.]

16 Comments

Filed under Life, Personal, Random thoughts

16 responses to “Thoughts on the sofa-bed : Part II

  1. Ali

    Wonderful, Just wonderful, Those last 2 posts shadi are fucking mind blowing, I enjoyed reading them a lot, And you touched some very important subjects that matter to everyone of us.

    You know sometimes i get blamed for being happy and optimistic, But i always think, Fuck them, I’m like this, Who doesn’t like who i am can go screw himself i don’t give a rats ass, Life is too short to spend it in sadness of every single thing bad that happens with you.

    I salute you shadi, Keep posting these amazing posts.

  2. Wesam

    Wow !! Spectacular Shadii !!
    I almost cried reading this post :O But you are totally right , we should seek happiness in ourselves .

    Keep going !! I’m just loving the new posts !!

  3. M

    Keep smiling.
    🙂

  4. yara

    “You are happy when you chose to be. You smile when you chose to”
    i needed to read this! beautifully expressed! i was moved! 2u7ayeeek… 😀

  5. Nice.

    They say “what hurts you makes you stronger”… I say “what hurts you will eventually kill you”. – The Ruling Numerator’s abundant wisdom – part II

    Btw, a guys tears are pretty hot. So be happy when you weep.

  6. Are you happy? The hardest question to answer!

    Does being happy mean to laugh and have good times?
    Is it being satisfied with your life?
    Or is it just the antonym of being stressed and depressed?

    We will have moments of joy even during the most shittiest moods, but we still continue to feel depressed! Then happiness is not depression’s reciprocal!
    Satisfaction in life (as I define it) is peace of mind, and fulfilling one’s own dreams. Self-achievements will always bring joy to one’s self! But to attain goal trying to get a better future may kills your enjoyment in the present time! It’s like worrying now to be happy then!
    Laughing and having good times may be a cover for restless and painful emotions!

    Then yes Shadi, seek happiness in yourself, and only then can you live happily. I think passion is the keyword here! Be passionate about whatever you do! Passion is contagious, and your passion will ignite others’ passions. Then you’ll be twice as happy to know that you can inspire someone!

    P.S. The picture shows discrimination against people with braces :/.
    Another P.S.: Even though I’m loving the sofa-bed thoughts, have some yansoun today before you go to bed! 😛

  7. Ali: Part 3 is the most personal one yet, I’m kinda fearing posting it up. Will see.
    M: I shall, because I’m awesome like that.
    Yara: See you soon wale!
    Numerator: I’ll make sure I take a video next time to capture my “hot” tears.
    Zeina: Passion is the keyword here, you’re right. I hope that in the next few months my passion, new understanding for life and independence I’ve gained over the last few months will ignite the candle that blew out earlier this summer, inshalla. Haha @ the braces. It’s 2 a.m. ow I can’t sleep, shaklo post 3 is coming up but I’m trying to study so we’ll see how the yansoun goes :P. I need to smell some yasamine ;).

  8. Pingback: Confessions of a chubby: Thoughts of the day

  9. You made me think a lot about myself. I am glad that I have a home, job, food on the table, and clothes on my back, I am glad that Allah has given me these things. But when it comes down to a personal level, I’m just not a happy person. Mostly I’m just going through the motions of the day, trying to stay one step ahead of my problems such as money, family, etc., and I have a lot of problems going on right now. I have to start making changes if I want to be a happy person. I’m glad you’re happy Yameen, I hope it stays that way.

  10. Great post, here is a story that compliment yours;

    One evening an old Indian Cherokee told his grandson about a battle that goes on inside people..

    He said: ‘My son, the battle is between ‘two wolves’ inside us all.

    One is Evil. It is anger, envy, jealousy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.

    The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith.’

    The grandson thought about it for a minute, and then asked his
    grandfather: ‘Which wolf wins?’

    The old Cherokee simply replied: ‘The one you feed.’

    Peace,

    Palforce

  11. Desert: The point of this post was to show you that even though I have a lot of issues going on, I am still able to smile most of the time, because I want to. Hopefully those changes you want to make you will soon be able to make. Good luck. It’s Shmal btw :P.
    Palforce: Lovely story man, thanks.

  12. Im glad you are happy bel akher.. from time to time we need these sofa bed thoughts so we improve! : )

  13. Abe

    Well put bro !
    Theres nothing in this life that should step in your way from willingness to joy.
    If one problem strikes you while passing through this road to joy, theres always a solution which you can use to reach your goal !

    Keep smiling 🙂 & always happy 😀

  14. Schmal — Sorry about that before, I was just feeling sorry for myself because I was havinga miserable week. But last night some things happened, not to get into too much detail about it, that made me think that life is pretty good and I am lucky and happy enough to have what I have. If I ever feel that way I did before, I promise I won’t let it intrude into yours or anybody elses blogs ever again.

  15. Pingback: I sit here « Yameen-Shmal : يمين – شمال

Leave a Reply

