Latest music obsessions


I’ve been getting a few complaints on why I haven’t posted anything in a while, and to answer your questions it’s just because I’ve been in a meh mood. I have lots of things to say, and I know some of you have been waiting for Part III of the sofa-bed thoughts but after I wrote it I realized it was too personal to post up online, so I guess you’ll never know :P.

This post is going to be about music, specifically arabic bands that I’ve recently fallen in love with. I discovered some on my own and some through my friends, but all in all it’s great music. One thing that I really want to discuss with those who are fans of both Jordanian and Lebanese bands is song lyrics. I’m at a phase where all I listen to is specifically arabic hip hop and both Jordanian and Lebanese bands, but what I do notice quite often is that the choice of lyrics is weak. I’m not here to diss any bands specifically, but in general, that’s what I notice. I mean the music is beautiful and what I get out of it is pride! I’m so proud of all our local bands for putting such an effort into their music, because it’s really awesome. The blend of arabic and western is superb and I’m still expecting much more out of my favorite bands. If anyone has any comment on the lyrics part guys, please share your ideas via comments.

1. Mashrou3 Leila

These guys I discovered on my own as they performed in Amman not long ago, but unfortunately my stupid medical schedule got the better of me and I ended up not going. Anyhooters, this one song for mashrou3 leila is one that I simply can’t stop listening to. It’s called “Shemm El Yasmine” and I don’t know what it is about it but I listen to it at least once a day. I’m not kidding, for the past 2 weeks I’ve listened to this song every single day at least once. Here’s a link to their myspace page to enjoy the rest of their music, and here’s a link to their facebook page as well. Now I’m just waiting for my friend in Lebanon to send me the CD when they’re done with it, plus some goodies from good ol’ Liban :D.

Here’s the song for your enjoyment:

[audio:http://www.yameen-shmal.com/Music/yasmine.mp3%5D

2. Salam

Salam is a Jordanian band named after the vocalist Salam Homoud. Winner of the 2008 Jordanian Band Competition. They’ve been on Amman radio stations since 2007 but I’ve never REALLY listened to their music until now. I’m in love with a song called “Latin One”. When you listen to it you’ll know exactly why. Their music is electric and the songs are both in English and Arabic, I prefer their english songs, but what the hell, it’s all good! You can check them out on facebook, and listen to the rest of their songs. If you couldn’t be bothered to click on a link here’s the song I like (this is not on their facebook page btw but if you guys want to download it, click here.)

[audio:http://www.yameen-shmal.com/Music/latin.mp3%5D

3. SoapKills

Now these I met through my friend Zeina, who’s a new blogger and now she owes me for making her blog famous, haha! (marketing 7abeebti!) SoapKills are a lebanese band first created by 2 siblings, Yasmine and Zeid, back in 1998, so yeah they’re quite old. Their music is really sensual and mostly has an arabic feel to it, which is amazing. I don’t know much about them and I don’t want to start quoting stuff off their myspace page, so here it is for you, check it out yourself. Zeina sent me a bunch of their songs because their albums have been long out and probably gone from stores,but if you youtube them you can find many of their songs. The one I like is off the album “Cheftak” and it’s called “Cheftak”. Here it is, enjoy:

[audio:http://www.yameen-shmal.com/Music/cheftak.mp3%5D

4. This totally random song

for “Ziyad Sahhab” but a girl sings it, so I’m confused. Anyway, here’s the song, it’s called “Imt Nseet”, also Lebanese :

[audio:http://www.yameen-shmal.com/Music/nseet.mp3%5D

23 Comments

Filed under Jordan, Links, Music

23 responses to “Latest music obsessions

  1. Ali

    Mashrou3 leila are the best Lebanese band i ever listened to (In there genre)

    Soapkills are awesome as well, Loved there music a lot.

  2. I agree about the lyrics part Chim.

    I don’t mind the love, but too much talks about that. I think a band like Jadal (with a name that refers to controversy and arguments) should have more controversial lyrics (not sure how controversy is spellt), that deal with politics and have more rebellion in them. I dunno… something that could change stuff and the way people think of things.

  3. Oh and I hope you’re not still meh, hope you get better.

  4. Pingback: Twitted by musicchio

  5. KJ

    there used to be a Lebanese band called “3aks el seir”. You heard em?

  6. Saed: Dude that’s what I meant when I wrote the Jadal post, and the guitarist sent me a message on facebook asking me why I didn’t like the lyrics. I forgot to reply and he probably hates me to this day ๐Ÿ˜› he asked for me once at Jara but unfortunately that day ma kont imdawem, or fortunately maybe, haha! I am not meh-ish at all today, had a full day bonding with dad :).
    KJ: I actually do know “3aks el seir”, used to have their stuff a year back. *wonders where their music went*

  7. Wesam

    How come I don’t know about these people ? :/
    I only know Jadal and well…you’re the one who told me about it almost a year ago and I loved their music !! But man , mashrou3 el leila :O
    AMAZING !! Loved this song and I’m surely going to download the rest of them ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. You didn’t know la2eno we haven’t talked in ages and I have so much more music to get you to listen to! When I see you basam3ek the rest!

  9. This is the first time I hear of these songs, all of them are nice but my favorite is your first pick.
    I don’t know why I have been stuck for a while with Fadl shaker and Michael Buble.
    A friend of mine told about a Lebanese singer, her name is Jean Marie Riachi, she is not bad:

  10. M

    Mashrou3 Leila *sigh*
    Again, thank you thank you thank you for giving me my newest obsession. =D

  11. Wesam

    Yusss alright !! I can’t wait ๐Ÿ˜€ โค

  12. momo

    mashrou3 leila IM OBSESSED!!!!
    i always wonder if this song was really just another love song; or if the band is talking about gays. the rest of their songs is very nice also. i saw them in beirut and they put on a very cool show and their lyrics are mostly political. its nice to have arabic bands that still thinks about their music.

  13. Noura: I shall check out the link. Check out the links and listen to the rest of their music, it’s all really good, especially mashrou3 leila.
    M: Haha! I’m still listening to the song twice a day it’s obsessive! Isma3e I have some more good songs, hollar when you’re online 3ashan ab3athom.
    Wesam: Wale! I’m coming bokra, mafrood ya3ni, so I’ll give you a call!
    Momo: Haha, to me it’s a really good love song, the music and the genre is just enchanting! The lyrics are political zay in rakseit leila and the other songs I’m still waiting to get them!! Got any you can send?
    It IS nice to have arabic bands that think about their music, you got that right!

  14. liked them.. except the lyrics of kashaftak :S

    7abbet Salam’s.. good voice! and mashrou3 leila!

  15. listen to Hiba on this myspace http://www.myspace.com/shiftz , let me know if u like her .

    many regards …

  16. Let Zouz rubs some awesomeness on Yameen-Shmal ๐Ÿ˜€
    *Now I’m dead* O.o loool 3 rasi Shadi!

    As for the lyrics thing, I totally agree! I guess arabic lyrics do not easily fit the not so arabic tunes (pardon my ignorance about musical terminology).
    -YAS rocks ๐Ÿ˜›
    -Shemm l yasmine is one beautiful song ๐Ÿ˜€ though the title kinda byew7eeli bil drugs! yasmine=white stuff lool!
    -I loved Latin One!
    -Lol @totally random song. The girl singing is Yasmina Fayed, one of the members in Ziyad’s band “Chahadine ya baladna”. Ziyad’s music is oriental, since he is an oudist, but that is one hell of a song. It’s written and composed by him. Here is his fan page on facebook ๐Ÿ™‚
    http://www.facebook.com/discography/?id=13223407061#/pages/Ziad-Sahab-Chahadin-ya-baladna/13223407061

    Oh and I know I’m nosy, sorry in advance, but Jean-Marie Riachi is a he not a she ๐Ÿ˜€ and he is a composer and a producer :).

    Shadi I loved the post, I love exploring new music!

  17. Jano: Walek the lyrics are awesome, especially to a girl who’s been cheated on, she’ll relate to that! Haha!
    Zeid: I shall give you my opinion when I listen to it. Thanks for dropping by :).
    Zeina The post loves you too Zeina and yes I’m going to kill you, bas ba3deen. 7sabek ba3deen!! ๐Ÿ˜›

  18. my dad liked it! he said “3edeha 3edeha ๐Ÿ˜€ ” :S

  19. Haha! No one liked it except me :P.

  20. so you’re two now! what a taste both of you!

  21. The best part is when she says “E5tak 3a e5ta”, haha, ta7sheesh!

  22. Pingback: Not just another music post « Yameen-Shmal : ูŠู…ูŠู† – ุดู…ุงู„

  23. Pingback: Errm… « Yameen-Shmal : ูŠู…ูŠู† – ุดู…ุงู„

Leave a Reply

