My inner child – Writing V


My inner child enjoys music. The tapping beats of a percussion solo. The sweet melodic rhythm an acoustic gibson creates. The harsh riffs of my Ibanez. The enchanting jazz solos of the likes of B.B. King. All tasteful notes that ring in my ear.

I sat online yesterday, trying to find something to play on my electric. Finally, I remembered this song a friend suggested a while ago, for a band called “Iron & Wine”. The guitar playing is basically repetitive, although it took me a half hour to learn it just right. What really got me going were the lyrics. Never have so few lyrics made me interpret a song in 3,000 possible ways.

A boy with a coin he found in the weeds
With bullets and pages of trade magazines
Close to a car that flipped on the turn
When God left the ground to circle the world

A girl with a bird she found in the snow
Then flew up her gown and that’s how she knows
If God made her eyes for crying at birth
Then left the ground to circle the earth

A boy with a coin he crammed in his jeans
Then making a wish he tossed in the sea
Walked to a town that all of us burn
When God left the ground to circle the world

[Link to the song]

My interpretation of the song spans on life & death. Pretty white dresses, wishing wells and ocean views. The delivery room of a hospital, the balance of the world. Does anybody watch over us? Is all what we have, all what we go through written? Do we have the luxury of free will? All questions going through my mind.

What’s your interpretation of the song?

4 Comments

Filed under Oh my Philosophy, Struggling with the unknown

4 responses to “My inner child – Writing V

  1. KJ

    My interpretation: watch your own back

  2. Zouz

    There is a fuchsia spot in this gray matrix!
    It’s hard to see and nearly impossible to capture!

  3. See, I hate how only two people had an opinion on the song. I love however, how you both had 2 totally different interpretations. Thanks you guys :).

  4. I think it’s about survival and that critical point when someone tends to just start seeing things in a completely different manner.

Leave a Reply

