Once upon a no-star night


Looked up unto the pitch black darkness, the sky had no stars, no moon, no life. I looked up unto the dark canvas, asked the man upstairs if he’s lost his art, he said no but I merely do not wish to paint tonight. It’s a sad night, for humanity. A sad night, one among many we have passed upon. Time flies, a gust of wind blows a leaf in front of my face, it lands on my belly and crunches as I lay my palm atop it. *crunch* The seldom appreciation we give to the world, we see so little of. We see so little of the world, our ย eyes focused on what doesn’t matter, tunnel-visioned into a world ruled by democrats, republicans, kings, queens, tyrants and lords. Ruled fairly, sometimes not, the rich get richer, the poor get poorer, pummeled by the rocks that society bears at hand. Rocks of social equity, be like us or perish they say as they break wind and hit them right in the face.

Our world, we live in now. Our world, we die in now. Generations upon generations, we live, we die, we thrive, we demolish, we destroy, we build, we break, we threaten, we fight, we make love, we listen, we talk, we see, we don’t see, we scream, we shout, we shut, we close, we run, we stand, we eat, we starve, we whine, we bitch, we clasp our hands in the end we clasp, to the world we clasp.

I write this in pain, pain caused by us unto mother earth. We appreciate not the land, the wind, the trees, the sights, the sounds, the birds, the water. We appreciate the money, the power, the sex, the glory. We grow up wanting and wanting, giving but little to a world that requires anything but that.

I’m not a tree hugger. I’m not a perfect person. I don’t live a simple life with just the clothes on my back and the food I eat, but I know enough to make myself cry at night.

“Close ’em eyes”, she yelled, as she climbed up on top of me. Each leg on one side of me, staring down with a flower in her hair. Her mint-laden breath flaring through my nostrils, listening to her throw the wrapping paper to one side. *Pop* She blows a bubble and giggles ever so lightly, almost orgasmically.

“Open your eyes now my dear, open them”. I look up and see the art the man created. Drawn if not in the sky then on earth, for it is that equity that I realize. It’s not always in the heavens, don’t always look up top, for when you do you forget what’s on our own level. We spend our entire life looking away, looking across, looking in the distance that we forget what’s right there in front of us. We forget our brothers and sisters. We forget our closest members. We forget ourselves.

Remind yourself constantly of who it is you have right in front of you. Remind yourself constantly of who you can help and give help to. Look at a flower, don’t pick it. Stare at the ground, not just the sky..

deathvalleysky_nps

10 Comments

Filed under I wrote this for you, Myself & I, Saving the world

10 responses to “Once upon a no-star night

  1. Wonderful little reminder. Just because you breathe and your heart beats does not mean you are alive. So much has been lost in life in our day… Modernity has made of us machines, drones, and we are anything but humans or humane.

    Great piece. Keep them coming.

  2. Abe

    Brazor i love this ravishing piece you have wrote today =D
    ‘But whatever happens the night must always shine with its luminous bright stars ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Ameer M. Masoud

    Accidently stopped by the tilte of the blog, I’ve entered.
    O One O Two, Two O One O, and O I have entered into a special day…

    “Once Upon A No-star Night”, the title that has drawn my eyes unto reading… I have read, “…I looked up unto the dark canvas, asked the man upstairs if heโ€™s lost his art, he said no but I merely do not wish to paint tonight…”

    thereafter, I said “Blessed are the hands, the living tools, you use to convey your mind unto ours”

  4. Chimmie my man you have a way with words.

    Great piece of writing. Wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚

    Also, I came

  5. I request this to be the blog post of the month. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention Yameen-Shmal : ูŠู…ูŠู† โ€“ ุดู…ุงู„ ยป Once upon a no-star night -- Topsy.com

  7. ๐Ÿ˜€ thanks Hamza! Yalla i3meli de3aye!

  8. raya

    i might have said it more than once bt i just love the way you express whats in ur head! lovely post

  9. Raya: Keep coming back and you’ll keep loving my way of writing :).

  10. raya

    that im sure of ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

