The act of giving


The nature of our souls dictate that we are greedy, and by “we” I mean the entire human race. The majority of us are brought up to understand that what we require in life are the basic needs of a human being, be it shelter, clothing, food, water and air; and we inevitably all figure out the vast difference between a “want” and a “need”. We don’t always get what we want, that’s something we’ve all been through. Whether it’s a physical or an emotional thing, we must struggle sometimes to get it.

I say we’re greedy because at the end of the day, for most of us, “I” am what matters the most. “I” want to be happy and have fun in life. “I” want to build the best friendships, relationships and life. “I” want to have lots of money and buy all the stuff I want. If you shake your head to the above three statements then you’re only lying to yourself. I say that because this post is read by the minority of people in the world, those who are blessed enough to have an internet connection. No, I’m not stereotyping everyone who has an internet connection to be selfish, but each and every one of us has a little of that “greediness” inside of us, it’s inevitable and it’s called looking out for yourself, because at the end of the day we all know that “I” am who’s going to be there for “me” every single day until I die.

This post is not meant to bash any of you, but this post is merely to remind myself of how I once swayed from the real meaning of life and the real meaning of giving. I’ve always looked upon myself as a good and caring person, but that means nothing when I spend a long time reflecting off my depressed and dark side onto all my friends and family. That side of me, you guys shall see no more, and since I’ve been working for the past 4 months on multiple charities, medical projects and acts of kindness I have become a new person with a new view to the world. I honestly barely have time to study anymore! Every day we come up with new ideas for charity events, campaigns, helping others and it feels great to know that you’re being a positive influence on the world.

Today we had an event that we’ve been planning for almost a month now. We held a diabetes campaign to educate and help families from Ramtha, Irbid and Mafrag deal with their children’s diabetic problems. As medical students, our role was to organize the whole thing, and if it wasn’t for a technical glitch (a person who shall remain unnamed) it would have gone perfect. Anyhow, shit happens, and we had to deal with what we had in front of us. We started out at 8:30 a.m. and set up the coffee break tables, the lecture hall, the sign in tables and the goody bags for the children. The real fun started as we moved upstairs to start the blood sugar tests on all the kids, and then send those with relatively high numbers off to counseling. It was awesome dealing with the children and knowing that what me and my colleagues were doing was going to be but a small step in helping them live with diabetes. We talked to families, played around with the kids, gave out lunch boxes and balloons and it was really a blast. Here’s a group photo we took after lunch at our uni:

7316_168228372352_618982352_3171859_6194391_n

There’s me (top center) with the kid in my lap and Yazan(bottom left) struggling to keep a kid in his lap, haha!

The world is not an ugly place. We have the power to help others, make others happy and make ourselves happy in the process. If each of us invested a minute of their time a day, to act kindly to others, we’d all be living in a better place. That’s the theme of Leen Awad’s new and fresh idea, that with the help of me, Adib [yes I mentioned your name specifically so you won’t kick my ass, haha] and a few more people is going to spread like brushfire throughout Jordan, inshalla. The idea is basically a random act of kindness that, with practice, will become your way of life. Doing one act a day, for the rest of your life.

The idea is called Project Heal, and you can know more about it here.

Our Facebook group lies here.

“The act of giving.” As much as you have received, you should be ready to give back and more. If you’re lucky enough to know what an ADSL connection is, then you’re lucky enough to be amongst a group of people who have enough health, wisdom and heart to help others.

“Be the change you want to see in the world” – Ghandi.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Project Heal, Saving the world

6 responses to “The act of giving

  1. “Be the change you want to see in the world” – Ghandi.

    I live by that 🙂

    I used to be hateful at some point, but I gotta say that I’ve changed, and I’m happy with it.

    My current project in uni involves urban planning and we’re hoping to fix certain areas in Jabal Amman, social enterpreneurship kinda thing.

    Should be interesting, hopefully something would work out with the project and that we find an investor to build it, or rather a donator maybe.

  2. :s :s :s..

    an act a day. you are asking for too much. I am happy with an act a month.

    Since we are on the topic, I was looking for a mini-project or something that would remain sustainable. i.e. that would encourage me to be committed to an act or a charity rather than wait for myself to be in the mood. I know myself for being selfish and hey, at least I admit it.

    the options that i am thinking about are not alot. I am seriously considering adopting a child…(kafalet yateem) project. I wonder if you can connect me with some people who can do that.

    P.S: I prefer if the child is lebanese. I wanna raise her and make her the next Elissa. 😀

  3. Abe

    Well said bro, loved each sentence that you wrote & quoted !

    You live once so plan right, think straight and do the right thing, coz at the end of the day you have to be good to yourself (so do that by caring for others around you who need your help whenever you can do so and be supportive at the same time) you won’t lose anything by doing so !

    Thumbs up bro 😉

  4. M

    !
    🙂

    Side note: you quoted someone! I’m so proud.

  5. Saed: Good luck with your project man, I’ll need to see some pictures soon :D.
    Hamza: You’re a funny guy aren’t you?
    Abe: 3a rasi bro 😀 shid 7elak bil masters ya 3ars, 3asheen itqasetli el golf, haha!
    The Bff: 🙂
    M: Haha! Yeah finally I was at a loss for my own words, so my friend Ghandi helped. You better not crease any of those pages!

Leave a Reply

